Holy Rosary Beads Banner

The Jesuits

Saint Ignatius BMembers of the Society of Jesus are usually referred to as “Jesuits”. The Society was founded by Saint Ignatius Loyola in 1540. It has since spread throughout the world.

The spirituality of the Jesuits is based on the Spiritual Exercises of Saint Ignatius, and is two-pronged: these Exercises invite conversion and commitment, from which flows an involvement, an immersion, in the manifold facets of that human endeavour which God has made, loved and redeemed.

Jesuit priests and brothers work in education (both secondary and tertiary), the media, as chaplains to schools, hospitals and prisons, in retreat centres and spiritual direction, in pastoral endeavours, the arts, as missionaries.

They take the three religious vows of Poverty, Chastity and Obedience, and some make a special vow of Obedience to the Pope.

Jesuits usually live in communities.  Jesuits are organised in Provinces which often co-extend with national boundaries. Well known Jesuits include Francis Xavier, Edmund Campion, Matteo Ricci, Andrea Pozzo, Domenico Zipoli, Teilhard de Chardin, Bernard Lonergan, John Courtney Murray, and Karl and Hugo Rahner.

•  •  •


46 Thomas Street
WA 6009
Australia  [map]

p : +(618) 9386 1870
f  : +(618) 9389 9237


100 Adelma Road
Nedlands  [map]


Recent Notices